I think if I had to put a title on my approach to home education, I would have to say that I am a believer in the 'Mama Knows Best' approach. I have purchased and used curriculum recomended by friends and family. Without the expected success. I really don't enjoy doing a lot of pre planning. We tend to do what we do for the day, and then I write it down after. I've never been one to follow a ridgid schedule.
I feel like maybe I should use the 'Classical' or 'Charlotte Mason' methods. I even have books on Charlotte Mason, although I've yet to read it. Maybe I'll get to it this summer and get back to you on my thoughts. I end up feeling like I'm not living up to the model aproach. Like we don't read enough classical books, or watch enough black and white movies. Don't get me wrong, I've tried, much to the chagrin of my spirited 6 year old.
So here we are, at the end of grade 1. We've somehow managed to attain most of the PLO's. And I can say with truthfulness that we have enjoyed most of it. We didn't really complete any particular program for English or Math. We worked thorough half our Social Studies book. Our Science was done in small chunks through the year. But somehow we managed. With a little help from life lessons, field trips, fantastic documentaries and truth in the bible, we are done!
As for our 'style...just label us 'undecided'
No comments:
Post a Comment