But what about socialization? Why is this everyones' first comment when they learn that we are a homeschool family? It's as if we hadn't considered that when we decided to keep her home. No really, we are that stupid. NO WE ARE NOT! We have realized that the point of public education is EDUCATION. It is not called public socialization. By the end of elementary school, I expect that my child will be able to read. And enjoy reading on her own. She will feel competent in her math skills and will have a healthy desire to learn more about how the world around her works. She will know the meaning of friendship. How to treat others around her, to care for the less fortunate. If I can help it she will NOT know about oral sex. She will not have experienced her first boyfriend. She will not have playmates refuse to be her friend because she does not wear the newest fashions. She will not be mocked for her religious beliefs, social standing or race.
Not that it's anybodys business, but she is socialized. She is involed in martial arts twice a week. And a weekly physical education class with other homeschooled children. She has friends over to play, and goes on educational field trips with other children. She decides for herself what she wants to eat and can order in a restaurant with manners. She can sit in a dentists chair without a DS or PSP (although she has one). My 'unsocialized' child is doing just fine thank-you!